It’s your Choice


its your choice

So much has been written about My choice video by Deepika Padukone in the past few days..While I held myself from writing or commenting on it.. I cannot hold myself any longer…

There are a few aspects of the video that I don’t agree on (coming from a more traditional background).. but there are some parts that I think makes sense.While Deepika may have agreed to do the video with all good intent to propagate women choices.. I think it has taken a different spin and has received mixed feedback…What will all the spoofs…Dog videos, maid video and the more serious stuff Deepika Bhardwaj video….

Well yes I agree my choice does matter..but does that mean that I shouldn’t care about the implications on others as a result of my choice…Deepika P version was trying to show women in a more bold light,trying to influence women to be more decisive and not be ashamed of their decisions. I think everyone has a choice and everyone should exercise their choice but should also consider their implications.

It shouldn’t  be like, you are angry with someone and you want to hit the daylights out of them so you make a choice to beat them to death.

I would use the analogy of stretch your hands enough but ensure that you are not hitting the other person as a result of the stretching.

Last when I checked the definitions of Choice were;

Choice involves mentally making a decisionjudging the merits of multiple options and selecting one or more of them. One can make a choice between imagined options (“what would I do if …?”) or between real options followed by the corresponding action.

Something that is preferred or preferable to others; the best part of something:

The right, power, or opportunity to choose; option:

With the definition of my choice being only a selfish interest could harm the society and human existence. We have made such a hue and cry on the Nirbhaya case, where the person arrested has no regrets for what he has done.  Imagine if a Guy says it’s my choice to rape someone. We will have similar instances across as everyone will be saying it’s “My Choice”

I wonder what the defense Lawyer in Nirbhaya’s case would have to say about this video. His ridiculous statements about women were appalling in the India’s daughter documentary. It goes to show how women are treated by some strata of society and that there is so much to do if we have to empower women.

I like the intensity in the Deepika P video, but I think there is still a lot to be done with regards to women empowerment. What the video has done though, is that it has got people talking about women choices by either supporting the video or showing their dislike but atleast the discussions are now more open.

In addition with creating an awareness among women, there is an increasing need for creating an awareness amongst other. A women herself does not treat another women with respect that is due. There is work to be done in our own backyard before we cast the net wide……

I like the version of choice depicted in the movie Dangerous Minds. That’s the kind of choice that everyone should be thinking about…

In the movie, Michelle Pfeiffer challenges her students, and tells them that they have a choice. No matter how dire their situation is, they have a choice and can make a difference. Not choosing to do something or not to act is a choice in itself.

This beautiful song, Firework by Kate Perry sums up everything for me..

Do you ever feel like a plastic bag
Drifting through the wind, wanting to start again?
Do you ever feel, feel so paper thin
Like a house of cards, one blow from caving in?……..

……………………………………………….

…………………………………………………..

Baby, you’re a firework
Come on, let your colours burst
Make ’em go, “Aah, aah, aah”
You’re gonna leave ’em all in awe, awe, awe………………………..

Leave a Reply

